Incarna So Far

I can’t say I’m all that fussed about the “first leg of Incarna”. As an immersionist I should be having a hard time getting my arms down over this but fact is: I’ve never missed immersion in EVE. I’ve always felt very connected to the idea of my clone self. The cold world of the capsule. The data interface I see on the screen. In my optics it’s a mistake to confuse “avatars” with immersion. I think a lot of people are missing the point that the screen you see in front of you is NOT the game interface. It’s the interface your character sees as she/he is connected to the system of his capsule. The view of space is through the eyes of drones. Every window you call up is how it actually looks. When I see my character walking around in a first person view that’s when it gets unrealistic for me. Is a camera drone following me around? Why do I need to see the world like this and not just through my own eyes? That is when the immersion is broken and EVE becomes just like the other games.

Leave a Reply

