Melancholia

I finally got around to seeing Melancholia. While I have deliberately avioded Antichrist I was looking forward to seeing what Trier had come up with this time. I never really considered myself a fan but I guess I do stay updated on what he’s doing and that I have seen most of his movies and projects. I still love to be creeped out by The Kingdom and to cringe at the unbeareable awkwardness in The Idiots.

Since it’s been a while since Melancholia had it’s debut it was no longer running in my favorite cinema (Empire Bio) but luckily CPH has a lot of alternative options. Dagmar Theatret is a small theater that somehow manages to be rather sheltered even though it’s right next to the city square. I quite like the atmosphere there as the lobby is also a proper cafe and big glass windows let’s cast a glance at the world outside while you’re drinking something nice and waiting for your movie to start. Just outside the theater there is a broad sidewalk dominated by a large space for parking bikes. Even though you’re sitting right in the center of town it is as if there’s a filter between you and the city and you can sip your personal favorite while watching it all pass by. It’s a place where I don’t mind showing up 30 minutes before to pick up my tickets. I do, in fact, usually show up an hour before if I can. The lobby is littered with stands onto which running and upcoming movies are represented via their posters. The people at Dagmar carefully cut the reviews from newspapers and stick them on top of the posters for you to read. I like that.

Another detail about Dagmar that I quite relish is the act of walking to your movie. Dagmar shows a lot of movies and has several different rooms of different sizes. While it’ surely is a small theater it’s a good kind of small. When your movie starts you go up or down the stairs and then, depending on where your movie is being shown, through a hallway, up more stairs, then you take a left and when you arrive you feel like the real world has been left behind and you’re ready for your movie.

 

Even though Von Trier seems very intent on bringing out the worst in people and show it to us in the most painful and beautiful way imaginable I find that I did enjoy  Melancholia. Despite the whole “planet hits the earth” premise I was relating to the story. It was painful but unlike other Von Trier movies I felt like there was a conclusion (dare I say “catharsis”?) this time. I wasn’t left hanging there at the end with all of these unpleasant emotions rampaging through me. They were induced, surely, but also dealt with and then the world ends.

Leave a Reply

