Conan – The Barbarian

Not Conan – The Pastry Chef (although I can see why you would confuse the two).

Lasse and Adrian are responsible for 46% of my trips out of the house. Trips that usually takes me straight to their place and some times to cinemas. This time we were in for Conan the Barbarian. The movie is not really a remake of the old classic from 1982 although they share a name. Rather the new movie tells yet another story about the lovable brute and this is in man y ways very much in keeping with the whole Conan “tradition”. Conan is a universe in itself (his pecs contain one universe each actually). There’s movies, comic books, games and now even an MMO set in the Conan mythology.

I was pleasantly surprised by the movie. It contains all the classic Conan elements. Not too much work has gone into making the themes any more politically correct. There’s an apt amount of violence, mystic scenery and a very loose plot + some foreboding dark sorcery which turns to be surprisingly ineffective.

I’ve always enjoyed the visial side of Conan. In fact, in my early days, my drawings were inspired by the scenery and landmarks of the comic books. Somehow I’ve always tied the Conan imagery with the early Dungeons & Dragons themes though that may just be a result of a universal style from the early 80’ies. In any case: seeing the landscapes, cities and battlefields in the new Conan movie struck a chord in me that made my experience all the better.

The only thing that I did not enjoy was the whole 3D thing. No movie since Avatar has managed to make me notice that it’s in 3D. Avatar had you leaning back in your seat on occasion. It’s fun feature but still a detail. In all the movies I’ve seen since I’ve only noticed the 3D effect during the start credits. If a movie HAS to have an extra dimension I want to see it. Bloody hell!

One response

  1. Torill

    I think I’d prefer to see the one about the pastry chef. And buy his cookbook 🙂

    August 25, 2011 at 10:54

Leave a Reply

