Bye Bye Moxie

One of my cats, Mox, died this weekend. She was only 6 years old – although I’ve been told she was an unstable breed – it was very unexpected. Friday she was feeling kindof ill and saturday I called a vet who said her symptoms suggested she had a fever. I was told to give her plenty of water and take her temperature to see if it was critical if she did not feel better the next day. When The Randi returned home Saturday night she found Mox had died while we were gone.

Now she is in a box – waiting for me to take her to the vet tomorrow. I feel bad about having left her alone and I wish I knew what was really wrong with her. She is in the picture in my previous post – feeling completely fine – being her own regal self (taking most of the bed for herself – of course). It certainly was fast. I hope it was also painless.

Losing a pet evokes the same sort of feelings you get when losing a human you cared for. First chock, then sad, then you cry, then you feel guilt, then more sad and then you try to remember the good things (of which there was a lot). Oh and then you feel silly for having all of these emotions about an animal. Then you ask yourself why that is silly – after all I spent more time with Mox than I do with many of my close friends. Now I find myself looking over at my computer on top of which she liked to recline (raising the core temperature by two degrees) and it kindof looks wrong without her on top of it.

I was hoping that writing this post would have a sort of cathartic effect – but maybe it’s a bit too soon for that. I’m going to miss my Mox.

2 responses

  1. so sorry for your loss. Moxie was very beautiful. :*(

    December 10, 2012 at 00:58

    • That is very kind of you – greatly appreciated.

      December 10, 2012 at 06:47

Leave a Reply

